Graz Museum Schlossberg

A new museum for all

In the Graz Museum Schlossberg, visitors can enjoy the most beautiful and widest view of Graz. On an interactive screen in the cannon hall you can turn back the wheel of time and also immerse yourself in historical cityscapes.
The exhibition tells everything about the eventful history of the Schlossberg. There the Schlossberg monuments are presented with fascinating exhibits in their historical context. In the subterranean vault of the casemate, a multimedia Schlossberg model provides insights into the interior of the mountain with its kilometer-long system of tunnels. But first come and linger in the Garden of Wonders, where mythical creatures of Graz such as a panther, a dog, an elephant and a lions live and where children are invited to play.

The Graz Museum Schlossberg is the first point of contact that provides information about the Schlossberg and orientation for visitors, inviting them to come and linger with its open and low-threshold gesture. All areas are inspired by the special nature of the historical site on which the museum is located and at the same time bring the area into the present. Aimed at a strolling public, the Graz Museum Schlossberg adopts an welcoming, inviting and inclusive attitude, which is also expressed in the architectural design. All areas of the Graz Museum Schlossberg are barrier-free. In addition, there are special offers for the blind and visually impaired, such as a tactile panorama of the View of Graz.

Opening Hours

Daily 10 am to 6pm
Free admission to the Garden of Wonders: 2 hours before the museum opens and after it closes

Discover the new audio guide of the Graz Museum Schlossberg, which is available in German and English as well as in easy to read and with audio descriptions for blind and visually impaired people. You can use the audio guide on site with a rental device or with your own smartphone, but you can also access it online on a barrier-free website.

Garden of Wonders

The “Garden of Wonders”, dominated by shady hornbeams, is the place of arrival at the GrazMuseum Schlossberg. Children can embark on a journey of discovery and explore the stories of the mythical creatures that are at home on the Schlossberg. What is behind the mythical figures of the heraldic panther, the stone dog, the elephant and the lion are hidden wishes, fears and fantasies of their respective times: male claim to power, Hungarian supremacy, Ottoman threat and proud defence of the Schlossberg.

View of Graz

The Cannon Hall of the Stable or Cannon Bastion offers the most beautiful and widest panoramic view of Graz and its environs. In addition, the GrazMuseum Schlossberg can interpret the city historically as a kind of model of the city: On a large, interactive screen, the wheel of time is turned back from key year to key year and one is immersed in the respective historical cityscape. In the “View of Graz”, changes of the cityscape over the centuries can be traced in the fast-forward mode.

Historical Trail

Significant buildings and monuments of the Schlossberg, which you may just have passed by, reappear in the GrazMuseum Schlossberg. On the “Historical Trail” of the former Cannon House, visitors stroll past two dozen such déjà-vu experiences. There the Schlossberg monuments are presented in their historical context with fascinating exhibits. The trail leads from the seat of power and bulwark of the past through Napoleon’s siege of Graz up to the landscape garden and nature and leisure experience of today.

Schlossberg Story

The casemate under the Stable or Cannon Bastion—a gigantic space protected by walls several metres thick—is accessible to people with disabilities for the first time in the GrazMuseum Schlossberg thanks to the installation of a lift. There, inside the bulwark, the audio-visual Schlossberg Story around a spectacular new transparent Schlossberg model illustrates the history of the hill. The multimedia show also provides views into the interior of the mountain with the Turkish Well and the more than six-kilometre-long tunnel system.

Arcitecture and design of the Graz Museums Schlossberg

The design by the architecture studio WG3 impresses with its inviting attitude and develops an atmospheric quality of stay in the new GrazMuseum Schlossberg. The foyer area—partly roofed, partly under trees—opens the historic courtyard of the Stable or Cannon Bastion towards the public strolling past: With its modern architectural layer, the ring-shaped paving and planting overcome the historical barrier to the former “barracks yard”.
Although the architectural concept of WG3 refers to the old fortification and defence community of the 16th to 19th centuries, it creates a new, open framework for today’s community of recreation seekers coming to the Schloßberg. In addition, the contemporary exhibition and graphic design of BUERO41A emphasises that the past centuries of the Schlossberg’s history are presented exclusively from a contemporary European perspective.

In 2021 the Graz Museum Schlossberg was honored with the Architectural Prize of the State of Styria.

Concept: Otto Hochreiter
Curators: Otto Hochreiter, Ingrid Holzschuh, Martina Zerovnik
Scientific support: Zsuzsa Barbarics-Hermanik, Marlies Raffler, Romedio Schmitz-Esser, Barbara Stelzl-Marx, Georg Tiefengraber
Project management: Sibylle Dienesch
Curatorial assistance: Johanna Fiedler
Arcitecture & Interior Design: studio WG3
Landscape arcitecture: studio Boden
Exhibition design & Graphic: BUERO41A
Corporate Design: EN GARDE

Project chronology

October 2013: The GrazMuseum was commissioned by City Councilor Gerhard Rüsch to develop a concept for a new SchloßbergMuseum

September 2017: Graz citizen leaves the city 1 million euros for the Schlossberg

Beginning 2018: General decision by City Councilor Günter Riegler to realize the SchloßbergMuseum

May to September 2018: project control by the city audit office

September 20, 2018: City council resolution for the realization of the SchloßbergMuseum

October 4, 2018: The implementation competition to search for architecture and design partners

December 5, 2018: Jury, winner; studio WG3, Graz

January 2019: Voting ASVK and BDA

January to July 2019: preparation and tendering of the construction work

End of July 2019: start of construction

September 12 and 13, 2020: Opening

Graz Museum Schlossberg

Ein neues Museum für alle

Im Graz Museum Schlossberg genießen die Besucher*innen die schönste und weiteste Aussicht auf die Stadt Graz. Auf einem interaktiven Bildschirm in der Kanonenhalle kann dabei nicht nur das Rad der Zeit zurückgedreht, sondern auch in historische Stadtbilder eingetaucht werden.
In der Ausstellung wird alles über die bewegte Geschichte des Schlossberges erzählt. Dort werden die Schlossberg-Monumente mit faszinierenden Exponaten in ihren historischen Zusammenhängen dargestellt. Im unterirdisch gelegenen Gewölbe der Kasematte gibt ein multimediales Schlossbergmodell Einblicke in das Innere des Berges mit seinem kilometerlangen Stollensystem. Aber kommen und verweilen Sie zunächst im Wundergarten, wo Grazer Fabelwesen wie Panther, Hund, Elefant und Löwe wohnen und Kinder zum Spielen eingeladen werden.

Das Graz Museum Schlossberg ist die erste Anlaufstelle sowie Informationszentrum, das durch seinen offenen und niederschwelligen Gestus zum Ankommen und Ankommen einlädt. Alle Bereiche werden getragen von der Besonderheit des historischen Ortes, an dem sich das Museum befindet, und überführen das Areal zugleich in die Gegenwart. Auf ein flanierendes Publikum ausgerichtet, nimmt das Graz Museum Schlossberg eine öffnenden, einladende und inkludierende Haltung ein, die sich auch in der architektonischen Gestaltung ausdrückt.
Alle Bereiche des Graz Museum Schlossberg sind barrierefrei erschlossen. Darüber hinaus gibt es spezielle Angebote für Blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen wie ein taktiles Panorama des Graz-Blicks in tastbarer Form.

Öffnungszeiten

Täglich 10-18 Uhr
Freier Eintritt in den Wundergarten: 2 Stunden vor Öffnung und nach Schließung des Museums

Audioguide

Entdecken Sie den neuen Audioguide des Graz Museums Schlossberg, der in den Varianten Deutsch und Englisch sowie in Leichter Sprache und mit Audiodeskriptionen für Blinde und sehbehinderte Menschen zur Verfügung steht. Sie können den Audioguide vor Ort mit einem Leihgerät oder mit ihrem eigenen Smartphone nutzen, aber auch online auf einer barrierefreien Website abrufen.

Wundergarten

Der „Wundergarten“, dominiert von schattenspendenden Hainbuchen, ist der Ort des Ankommens im Graz Museum Schlossberg. Kinder können auf Entdeckungsreise gehen und die Geschichten der Fabelwesen erkunden, die am Schlossberg beheimatet sind. Hinter den mythischen Figuren des Wappen-Panthers, des Steinernen Hundes, des Elefanten und des Löwen verbergen sich Wünsche, Ängste und Fantasien ihrer jeweiligen Entstehungszeit: männlicher Machtanspruch, ungarische Vormachtstellung, osmanische Bedrohung und stolze Schlossbergverteidigung.

Graz-Blick

Die schönste und weiteste Aussicht auf Graz und seine Umgebung bietet die Kanonenhalle der Stall- oder Kanonenbastei. Zusätzlich kann im Graz Museum Schlossberg die Stadt quasi als Stadtmodell historisch interpretiert werden: Auf einem großen interaktiven Bildschirm wird das Rad der Zeit von Schlüsseljahr zu Schlüsseljahr zurückgedreht, und man taucht in das jeweilige historische Stadtbild ein. Im „Graz-Blick“ lassen sich die Veränderungen des Stadtbilds über die Jahrhunderte im Schnelldurchlauf nachvollziehen.

Geschichts-Parcours

Wichtige Schlossberg-Bauten und Denkmäler, an denen man vielleicht gerade vorbeispaziert ist, kehren im Graz Museum Schlossberg wieder. Im „Geschichts-Parcours“ im ehemaligen Kanonierhaus flanieren die Besucher*innen an zwei Dutzend solcher Déjà-vu-Erlebnisse vorbei. Dort werden die Schlossberg-Monumente mit faszinierenden Exponaten in ihren historischen Zusammenhängen dargestellt. Der Parcours führt vom Herrschersitz und Bollwerk der Vergangenheit über Napoleons Belagerung bis zum Landschaftsgarten und Natur- und Freizeiterlebnis von heute.

Schlossberg-Story

Die Kasematte unter der Stall- oder Kanonenbastei – ein gigantischer Raum, geschützt durch meterdicke Mauern – ist im Graz Museum Schlossberg durch den Einbau eines Liftes erstmals barrierefrei zugänglich. Dort, im Inneren des Bollwerks, veranschaulicht die audiovisuelle „Schlossberg-Story“ rund um ein spektakuläres transparentes Schlossbergmodell die Geschichte des Berges. Die multimediale Show gibt auch Einblick in das Innere des Berges mit dem Türkenbrunnen und dem über sechs Kilometer langen Stollensystem.

Architektur und Design des Graz Museums Schlossberg

Der Entwurf des Architekturbüros studio WG3 besticht durch seine einladende Grundhaltung und entwickelt im neuen Graz Museum Schlossberg eine stimmungsvolle Aufenthaltsqualität. Der Foyerbereich – teils unter Dach, teils unter Bäumen – öffnet den historischen Hof der Stall- oder Kanonenbastei in Richtung des vorbeiflanierenden Publikums: Die ringförmige Pflasterung und die Bepflanzung überwinden mit ihrem modernen Architektur-Layer die historische Barriere zum ehemaligen Militärareal.
Die Architekturkonzeption von studio WG3 bezieht sich zwar auf die alte Festungssituation und die Verteidigungsgemeinschaft des 16. bis 19. Jahrhunderts, schafft jedoch einen neuen, offenen Rahmen für die heutige Gemeinschaft der Erholungsuchenden, die auf den Schlossberg kommen. Ergänzend dazu unterstreicht das zeitgenössische Ausstellungs- und Grafikdesign von BUERO41A, dass die vergangenen Jahrhunderte der Schlossberggeschichte ausschließlich aus heutiger europäischer Perspektive dargestellt werden.

Das Graz Museum Schlossberg wurde 2021 mit dem Architekturpreis des Landes Steiermark ausgezeichnet.

Idee: Otto Hochreiter
Kurator*innen: Otto Hochreiter, Ingrid Holzschuh, Martina Zerovnik
Wissenschaftliche Begleitung: Zsuzsa Barbarics-Hermanik, Marlies Raffler, Romedio Schmitz-Esser, Barbara Stelzl-Marx, Georg Tiefengraber
Projektleitung: Sibylle Dienesch
Projektleitung GBG: Wolfgang Frischenschlager
Kuratorische Assistenz: Johanna Fiedler
Architektur & Interior Design: studio WG3
Landschaftsarchitektur: studio Boden
Ausstellungsgestaltung & Grafik: BUERO41A
Corporate Design: EN GARDE

Projektchronologie

Oktober 2013: Beauftragung des Graz Museums durch Stadtrat Gerhard Rüsch zur Erarbeitung einer Konzeptidee für ein neues Schlossberg-Museum

September 2017: Grazer Bürgerin hinterlässt der Stadt 1 Mio. Euro für den Schlossberg

Anfang 2018: Grundsatzentscheidung des Stadtrates Günter Riegler zur Realisierung des Schlossberg-Museums

Mai bis September 2018: Projektkontrolle durch den Stadtrechnungshof

20. September 2018: Gemeinderatsbeschluss zur Realisierung des Schlossberg-Museums

4. Oktober 2018: Auslobung des Realisierungswettbewerbs zur Suche von Architektur- und Gestaltungspartner*innen

5. Dezember 2018: Preisgericht, Sieger: studio WG3, Graz

Jänner 2019: Abstimmung ASVK und BDA

Jänner bis Juli 2019: Vorbereitung und Ausschreibung der Baumaßnahmen

Ende Juli 2019: Baubeginn

12. und 13. September 2020: Eröffnung

Presseinformationen zum Graz Museum Schlossberg