About us

Mission Statement

GrazMuseum is the culture-historical museum of the city of Graz. Its collection and exhibitions reflect upon the history and presence of the city.

Present-day History
Museums give knowledge that has become placeless a place in real life again. They rather want to be museums of life than graveyards of objects. For this reason the GrazMuseum as a historical museum is obliged to be decidedly contemporary; hence it always looks at history from a present-day perspective and communicates it with the formal means of today.

A Forum for Urban Subjects
As a city museum, we see ourselves as a platform for contemporary urban subjects that make us feel like dealing with and perceiving the city. In accordance with the objectives of present-day city museums as defined by the International Committee for the Collections and Activities of Museums of Cities (CAMOC), we want to be a space for investigating and discussing contemporary urban subjects.

Experiments in Civic Identity
The GrazMuseum as a permanent identity laboratory continuously looks for both scientific and artistic answers to the question how reasonable, not irrational, identity can be found at all in the more and more complex society of a “Europe of the Regions”. We think that today’s city museums have to dismiss the myth of the homogenous citizen and pay particular attention to not or little represented segments of the population or urban subjects.

Open to All Interested Parties
We see our museum as a visitor-oriented but by no means populist place. In the GrazMuseum as an open place for cultural participation, local experiences can be organised as a resource for social processes.

The History of the GrazMuseums

The Years of Establishment and Travel
In 1928, the Stadtmuseum was founded by the municipality of Graz, the Landesmuseum Joanneum, the University of Graz, the Graz University of Technology, and the Styrian State Archive as a historical museum of the city of Graz on the occasion of the 800th anniversary of the first documented reference to the city of Graz. As late as ten years after it had been established—the items of the collection had been boxed in inadequate depots or had been placed in rooms of the town hall—, the museum was provided with exhibition rooms in the Palais Attems, Sackstraße 17. In 1951, it became a part of the Landesmuseum Joanneum and moved to Schloss Eggenberg but it returned to the city centre and into the ownership of the municipality in 1969. The exhibits of that time were historical objects and works of art owned by the municipality; over time, they were complemented by acquisitions and donations.

Permanent Residence in the Palais Khuenburg
After provisional solutions that had lasted for 44 years, the Stadtmuseum finally found its permanent residence in the Palais Khuenburg, Sackstraße 18, in 1972. There, efforts were made, beside comprehensively communicating the history of the city—building on the collection on display, which was opened in 1982—to resume the until then rather modest collecting activity. From 1995 to 1997, the museum was modernised under the leadership of Dr. Gerhard M. Dienes, who managed this institution for 15 years. Moreover, it shifted its focus towards a programme of special exhibitions—with shows such as “Wasser“ (Water), “trans lokal. Neun Städte im Netz“ (trans local. Nine Cities in the Network), and “Die Gesetze des Vaters“ (The Laws of the Father).

Ownership
In 2005, the museum was outsourced from the municipal administration under the leadership of Otto Hochreiter and has operated as Stadtmuseum Graz GmbH since then. Yet, the institution has also remained a hundred percent in the sole ownership of the City of Graz after it was outsourced. Dr. Günter Riegler is the City Councillor.

European Museum of the Year Award Nominee 2014
The former Stadtmuseum Graz turned into the stadtmuseumgraz, and into the GrazMuseum from the autumn of 2012 onwards, an exhibition venue which attracted plenty of attention on a supra-regional level and was nominated for the European Museum of the Year Award 2014 with its permanent exhibition “360GRAZ | Die Stadt von allen Zeiten” (The City in All Times | from All Perspectives).

The Team

Management

Prof. Otto Hochreiter, MA
Director | Managing Director
grazmuseum@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7618
Download CV Otto Hochreiter

Mag. Sibylle Dienesch
Vice Director | Authorised Signatory
sibylle.dienesch@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7601

Maria Dorrer
Commercial Assistant
maria.dorrer@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7615

Mag. Stefanie Plut, M.A.I.S.
Assistant of the Management
stefanie.plut@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7618

Marketing & Communication

Mag. Martina Pock, M.A.
Marketing & Public Relations
martina.pock@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7616

Exhibitions

Mag. Martina Zerovnik
Chief Curator
martina.zerovnik@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7605

Mag. Annette Rainer
Curator Exhibitions
annette.rainer@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7611

Franziska Schurig
Exhibition Assistant
franziska.schurig@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7607

Johanna Fiedler, BA BA
Exhibition Assistant
johanna.fiedler@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7602

Cultural Education & Visitor Services

Mag. Annette Rainer
Head of Cultural Education and Visitor Services
annette.rainer@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7611

Mag. Johanna Grützbauch, MAS
Head of Cultural Education and Visitor Services
(currently on sabbatical)

Mag. Karoline Boehm
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
karoline.boehm@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7604

Silke Essinger
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
silke.essinger@stadt.graz.at

Georg Göschl, MA
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
georg.goeschl@stadt.graz.at

Martin Hammer, MA BA
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
martin.hammer@stadt.graz.at

Ferdinand Leisch, BA
Visitor Services
ferdinand.leisch@stadt.graz.at

Christina Rajković, MA BA BA
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
(currently on maternity leave)

Mag. Angela Rossmann, MA
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
angela.rossmann@stadt.graz.at

Katharina Sauer, BA MA
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
katharina.sauer@stadt.graz.at

Dr. Brigitte Schuchlenz
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
brigitte.schuchlenz@stadt.graz.at

Mag. Robert Tendl
Cultural Education and Visitor Services
robert.tendl@stadt.graz.at

Martin Zilenschek
Visitor Services

Collections

Dr. Franz Leitgeb
Head of Collections
franz.leitgeb@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7603

Mag. Katharina Mraček-Gabalier, MA
Curator of Collections
katharina.gabalier@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7608

Antonia Nussmüller, MA
Digital Collection Management
Project management
antonia.nussmueller@stadt.graz.at

City Archive

Mag. Dr. Wolfram Dornik
Head of City Archive Graz
wolfram.dornik@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7626

Gregor-Josef Harler
gregor-josef.harler@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7623

Mag. Matthias Holzer
User Service | Building documentation
matthias.holzer@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7620

Dipl.-Archivarin (FH) Mag. Tamara Kefer
Registrar
tamara.kefer@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7621

Marie Truhlar
Assistentent to the Registrar
marie.truhlar@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7628

Helmut Klug
helmut.klug@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7622

Mag. Peter Schintler
Historical requests
peter.schintler@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7624

Dr. Gerhard Schwarz, MA
Historian
gerhard.schwarz@stadt.graz.at
+43 316 872-7625

Tecnical Services

Edin Prnjavorac, BSc
Technical Management
edin.prnjavorac@stadt.graz.at
+43 664 60 872-7606

Herbert Fortin
Member of the technical team
herbert.fortin@stadt.graz.at
+43 664 608 727-602

Cleaning

Melanie Czerny

Gerlinde Gebhardt

Memberships

Partners

Media partners